McBride Law Blog

November Book Review

McBride Law Blog

// R. Shawn McBride // No Comments »

This blog post is the newest in our monthly Book Review series. The following books reviewed are a collection of invaluable reads, topics include: marketing, medicine, leadership and women in business.

Platform… Get Noticed in a Noisy World by Michael Hyatt is a prodigious guide for helping to build a brand and identifies how to get your business’ message out there.  I wish I had seen this book earlier in my business journey.  I already practice several of Hyatt’s brand strategies, but the book taught me details and helped me refine the strategies I currently have in place. I highly recommend his book to anyone with a message to spread about their business. Hyatt’s guidance will help you touch more lives.

Athena Doctrine:  How Women (and the Men Who Think Like Them) Will Rule the Future by John Gerzema and Michael D’Antonio. The book discusses a number of studies and projects worldwide. The personality characteristics profiled, as typically of being associated with females are deliberated. The authors argue that certain female characteristics can create better outcomes for groups. I agree that what females are typically better at can be used to benefit us all.

The Emperor of All Maladies:  A Biography of Cancer by Siddahartha Mukherjee is an excellent read for understanding the history, progression and behind the scenes exploration in cancer research and current treatments. Mr. Mukherjee breaks down the knowledge known about cancer and breakthroughs. From a business standpoint, much of the information is transferrable.  How do you conduct tests? When do you change direction? Is your timing, right? I couldn’t help but compare his insights on cancer to my client’s struggles to get their businesses just right. A great read if you want to take an outsider’s look at medicine and understand what is going on behind the scenes.

Multipliers:  How the Best Leaders Make Everyone Smarter by Liz Wisemen does a great job at helping leaders think about leadership – specifically how they are going to empower teams members to be better leaders. A lot of food for thought in here on how to delegate and how to build a culture of growth.

These books are available on Amazon.com. If you missed previous posts in this series, the following are books previously reviewed.

Previous Book Reviews 
TitleAuthorMonth
10X Mind ExpanderDan SullivanSeptember 2016
Amplify Your Business: Rock My ImagineJen DeVore RichterAugust 2016
Discover True NorthAnne BruceAugust 2016
Don’t Tank Your TED TalkHayley FosterSeptember 2016
Focus your EnergyThom HartmannSeptember 2016
God’s BusinessKurt GlacySeptember 2016
How I Raised Myself from Failure to Success in SellingFrank BettgerSeptember 2016
Mass InfluenceTeresa de GrosboisAugust 2016
Power through Partnership:  How Women Lead Better TogetherBetsy Polk & Maggie Ellis ChotasSeptember 2016
Stop Complainers and Energy DrainersLinda SwindlingAugust 2016
The Hunger for HappinessKathy BrandonAugust 2016
Trust Your SelfMarilyn WallerSeptember 2016
UnmarketingScott StrattenAugust 2016
Wake Up! Break Rules!Charlene GilmanAugust 2016
You Were Born RichBob ProctorAugust 2016
Your Presentation Is a JokeMarshall ChilesSeptember 2016
Nice Girls Still Don’t Get the Corner OfficeLois P. FrankelOctober 2016
Red NoticeBill BrowderOctober 2016
Learning How To Avoid The GapDan SullivanOctober 2016
If You Want It Done Right, You Don’t Have to Do It YourselfDonna M. Genett, Ph. D.October 2016
The Inequality EqualizerJen AbernathyOctober 2016

If you have any questions about the content of this blog or any business law issues not discussed here, please contact us. If you have any suggestions for blog topics, please send them to info@mcbrideattorneys.com.

This posting is intended to provide readers with a list of business law and related book reviews for general reading purposes. This is not a comprehensive list nor should this article be treated as legal advice to any person or entity. FreeImages.com/Griszka Niewiadomski.

About the Author

R. Shawn McBride — R. Shawn McBride is the Managing Member of The R. Shawn McBride Law Firm, PLLC.  Shawn works successful, private business owners in their growth and missions to make a company that stands the test of time.  You can reach R. Shawn McBride at info@mcbrideattorneys.com or (214) 418-0258.

Check us out on the web at www.mcbrideattorneys.com.

Add us on Twitter: @rsmlawpllc

Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheRShawnMcBrideLaw

Make sure you download our free reports on how to build your company the right way: http://www.mcbrideattorneys.com/report-library/

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmailAbout the Author Shawn works successful, private business owners in their growth and missions to make a company that stands the test of time. You can email or call (214) 418-0258.

Leave a Reply


Error: Please enter a valid email address

Error: Invalid email

Error: Please enter your first name

Error: Please enter your last name

Error: Please enter a username

Error: Please enter a password

Error: Please confirm your password

Error: Password and password confirmation do not match